Meatball Subs (vegan)

IMG_4516

Hello again!  I’ve been all over the place the last couple of weeks, least of all on here.  I recently got back from Laos, spending my 4th of July staring out the window at hammer and sickle flags…(Fourth of July fail.)  I hope everyone had a great holiday!  Since having the month of July off, I thought I’d be all over my little blog, but alas.  Anyway, I’m back!

I love me some meatball subs.  The first time I made them I used a TVP + VWG combo, and they were pretty great, but I thought I’d try something new this time (mostly because I ran out of VWG).  I used a bean combination, and were pleasantly surprised that they didn’t come out bean-y.  I’m not a huge fan of mock meats, so when I when I make something that originally had meat, like MEATballs, I’m not going for re-creating that exact flavor.  What I am into, is liquid smoke.  The smokey flavor that usually accompanies meat can be infused in any dish that needs a little extra flavor.

These subs go wonderfully with any form of fried potato :)

Below are the meatball recipe and the marinara recipe, but you could certainly use store bought marinara sauce if you’re short on time.

IMG_4506

IMG_4523

Meatball Subs:

makes four sandwiches

Ingredients:

Meatballs:

onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup mushrooms, chopped

2 cups of cooked beans (any type, or a blend)

tsp salt

tsp liquid smoke

1/4 cup bread or panko crumbs

1/4 cup flour + more for dusting

2 tsp nutritional yeast

oil, for frying

Marinara:

8 tomatoes, halved

2 tbsp olive oil

tsp salt

2 tsp nutritional yeast

3 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 cup water

Additional:

4 hoagie rolls

chopped basil

Directions – Marinara:

1.  Preheat oven to 210°C (410°F).

2.  On a baking sheet, place halved tomatoes cut-side up in a single layer. Drizzle one tbsp olive oil and sprinkle salt and nutritional yeast over the tomatoes.  Place in the oven for one hour.

3.  After one hour, turn the heat up to 230°C (450°F) for 15 more minutes.  Remove and allow to cool, then dice.

4.  Heat the remaining oil in a saucepan until shimmery.  Add garlic and cook until browned.  Add the tomatoes, water, and the drippings from the pan.  Add the meatballs and simmer for 10 minutes, or until desired consistency.

Directions – Meatballs:

1.  In a skillet over medium heat, add oil.  When oil is shimmery, add the onion and garlic.  When the onions are starting to brown, add in the mushrooms and saute until brown and crispy.  Turn off heat set aside, and let cool.

2.  In a medium bowl or ziploc bag, smash the beans into a paste.  Add the remaining ingredients and roll into twelve balls.

3.  Heat oil in a pan over medium heat.  While oil is heating, lightly coat the meatballs with flour.  When oil is hot, add meatballs six at a time into the pan.  Turn the meatballs over about every minute to evenly brown. Repeat with remaining meatballs.

4.  If using store-bought marinara, heat in a small saucepan and add meatballs for 10 minutes to absorb the sauce.

Directions – Assembly:

1.  Halve hoagie buns.  Toast and spread with vegenaise, if desired.

2.  Add three meatballs to each bun and a spoonful of sauce.

3.  Top with chopped basil and eat!

3 thoughts on “Meatball Subs (vegan)

  1. This looks so, so good. I completely agree about mock meats… ick! Celebrating the flavour of the beans or tofu is a much better idea :) I love the sweet potato fries also! x

Leave a Reply

