Tempura Udon (vegan)

IMG_4547

One. If you live in SE Asia you know…rainy season is upon us.  This means crazy thunderstorms and pouring rain about 5% of the time and dreary, cloudy weather the rest of the time.  That being said, without sunlight, I know my pictures have been kind of…sub par lately.  Grey-ish.  Blah.  I usually love the rain, but come on!  I need some light.

Two.  While yummy, I make absolutely no claims about the authenticity of this dish.

Three.  I used tofu, mushrooms, and a carrot because it’s what I had on hand, but this soup is perfect for using up any vegetables in your crisper.  Some broccoli, pea shoots, onions, would work great too.

Four.  You’ll have some left over tempura batter if you feel like frying up anything else.  I really recommend enoki, but again, any vegetable will be delicious.  Also, a tip about the enokis…they can be a little difficult to fry because they tend to un-bunch when you cut the bottom off.  After I fry the clumpy ones, I usually throw the stray mushrooms in the batter, squeeze the excess off, then scatter it in the oil.

Five.  I think putting fried stuff on top of mushy stuff is one of the greatest texture (and flavor) combinations out there.  Like green bean casserole.  Is it Thanksgiving yet?

IMG_4531

IMG_4534

light saber chopsticks mandatory

 Tempura Udon Soup:

serves two – three

Ingredients:

200 grams udon noodles

3 cups water

1 carrot, or other vegetables, chopped

200 grams enoki mushrooms, divided

100 grams tofu

1 tbsp miso

1 tbsp soy sauce

1 tbsp mushroom soy sauce

1/2 cup flour

1/4 tsp sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup water

6 tsp oil + more for frying

Directions:

1.  Cook udon noodles according to package directions.  Drain, let cool, and split up into two or three bowls.

2.  Mix flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, water, and 6 tsp oil.  Place in the fridge for 15 minutes.

3.  Meanwhile, in a small saucepan, prepare the broth.  Bring 3 cups of water to a simmer.  Add miso, soy sauce, and mushroom soy sauce.

4.  Add vegetables (except 100 g enoki mushrooms) and simmer until soft, about 5 minutes.

5.  Add tofu, cover, and set aside.

6.  Heat oil in a deep pan or pot over medium high heat.  Remove tempura batter from the fridge.  Coat remaining mushrooms in batter, and place in hot oil.

7.  Fry 30 seconds on each side.  Place on a paper towel to drain and repeat with remaining mushrooms.

8.  Pour broth and vegetables over noodles and top with fried mushrooms.  Finished!

Source: Tempura batter from about.com

3 thoughts on “Tempura Udon (vegan)

  1. I want those lightsaber chopsticks!!!!! Aaah, the inner nerd in me is jealous! :) Those crispy enoki look amazing. I’ve never made tempura at home but I eat it ravenously every time I head to Japanese restaurants. I’m going to try your recipe. I adore mushrooms (much like a hobbit) so I can tell that I’ll love this xx

    • Darn it. Anything that makes it harder to get food to my mouth isn’t worth it. But you’d look darn cool (until noodles starting slipping back to splash into the bowl!)

Leave a Reply

