Make Your Own: English Muffins

IMG_4646

Greetings!

After much mulling, I’ve decided to start a new series!  I’ve had to learn how to make a lot of things from scratch since things like english muffins are few and far between here in Thailand.  And if I usually do find them, chances are they aren’t vegan.  So the series is geared towards foods you could easily buy at the supermarket, made from scratch!  This obviously takes more time and effort, but if you can spare the time, the fresh, homemade versions are worth it.

First up: english muffins!  I always assumed english muffins are baked, but they’re cooked on a griddle instead of an oven, and that’s how they get those brown circles on both sides.  They don’t take too long, and they’re so much better than packaged.  They also freeze well, so you can make a big batch and have them for breakfast all week long.

Fork split them, stick them in a toaster, and lay the (vegan) butter on thick!

IMG_4606

IMG_4613

IMG_4625

IMG_4637

IMG_4638

IMG_4644

English Muffins:

 

Ingredients:

1 & 1/4 tsp yeast

1/2 cup warm water

1/2 cup warm almond milk

3 tsp brown sugar

2 tbsp vegetable shortening

3 cups all-purpose flour + more for dusting

1/2 tsp salt

 

Directions:

1. In a bowl, sprinkle the yeast over the warm water.  Let stand five minutes, or until bubbly.

2.  Add the almond milk. brown sugar, and shortening.  Stir well until combined.

3.  Fold in the flour and salt.  Knead the dough for 8 minutes, then place in an oiled bowl.  Let rise for one hour, or until doubled in size.

4.  Punch the dough down.  On a lightly floured surface, roll the dough out to half an inch.

5.  With a circle cookie cutter or a small bowl or glass, cut out circles in the dough.  Re-roll and repeat to use all the dough.

6.  Let rise for half an hour.

7.  Heat a lightly greased pan or griddle on medium-high heat.  Cook the muffins about five minutes on each side.

8.  Let cool and fork split.  To store, place in plastic bags and put in the freezer.  To eat, toast and spread on anything you desire.

Finished!

Source: This recipe is adapted from allrecipes.com

 

 

4 thoughts on “Make Your Own: English Muffins

  1. I second Meghan- these look great! Very impressive! I’m in the UK so there are plenty of English muffins, but if I ever find myself in a situation without English muffins, I’ll be sure to come back for this recipe :)

  2. I make my own because I prefer whole wheat flour and commercial WW muffins are too sweet. Adding some baking soda to the dough helps create the holes.

  3. I’ve always wanted to make my own English muffins. I eat heaps of them, so the idea of making my own is pretty darn appealing. Ypirs look perfect! Thanks so much xx

Leave a Reply

