Stuffed Naan

IMG_5062

I’ve had India on the brain for quite some time now.  I’m not sure if it’s the country I’d most like to visit, but I’d say it definitely makes the top three!  It’s a colossal country with so much to see and do.  But if I’m being completely honest, I really want to go to India to EAT.  I am all about Indian food.  I really think I could eat it everyday and still have the same enthusiasm for it every time I saw it on my plate.

As enthusiastic as I am towards Indian cuisine, I have never been to India, nor learnt about traditional cooking methods, and therefore make absolutely no claims about the authenticity of this dish and furthermore apologize if you actually know about Indian food and consider this an abomination.  I can however, vouch for its tastiness!  I stuffed this naan with a smokey eggplant curry.  The eggplant is typically charred over an open flame, infusing it with smokiness, but I did not have access to one of those so I cheated and added in liquid smoke.  If you have access to one, by all means, char away!  You could also fill it with any curry if you’re not feeling eggplant.

IMG_5033

IMG_5045

IMG_5050

IMG_5057

IMG_5063

 Vegan Naan Stuffed with Eggplant Curry

makes 4 stuffed naan

Ingredients:

Naan:

tsp instant yeast

7 tbsp warm water

2 tbsp soy milk

tsp apple cider vinegar

tsp corn starch

tsp salt

2 cups flour

3 tbsp vegetable oil

Eggplant Curry:

eggplant

1 tbsp + 2 tbsp oil

pinch caraway seeds

4 cloves garlic, minced

onion, chopped

1/2 tsp curry powder

1/2 tsp turmeric

pinch of asafoetida

pinch of ginger

1/2 tsp liquid smoke

tomato, chopped

1/2 tsp salt

Directions

1.  Preheat the oven to 400°F.  Quarter the eggplant and drizzle with 1 tbsp olive oil and a pinch of salt.  Roast in the oven for 45 minutes, or until mushy.  Once cool, scrape the inside from the peel and set aside.

2.  In a small bowl, sprinkle the yeast over 7 tbsp of warm water.  Let rest until bubbly, about 3 – 5 minutes.

3.  In a separate small bowl, whisk together the soy milk, apple cider vinegar, and corn starch.

4.  In another, large bowl, combine the flour and salt.  Make a well in the center, then pour in the yeast mixture, soy milk mixture, and the oil.  Mix together, then turn onto a lightly floured surface and knead until the dough springs back when you poke it.  Transfer the dough to a lightly oiled bowl and let rise in a warm place for 2 hours, or until doubled in size.

5.  While the dough is rising, make the eggplant curry.  Heat the remaining oil in a large pan on medium heat.  Once warm, add the caraway seeds and toast for 1 – 2 minutes.

6.  Add the garlic and cook for 3 – 4 minutes.  Add the curry powder, turmeric, asafoetida, and ginger and stir for 30 seconds.  Add the onions and salt, and cook until clear, 5 – 6 minutes.

7.  Finally, add the eggplant, liquid, smoke, and tomato.  Cook for 10 minutes longer on low heat, until the curry has reached your desired consistency.  Since this is going into naan, you want it on the drier side.  Set aside to cool.

8.  Once the dough has doubled, punch down and divide into 4 pieces.  Form each piece into a ball.  Let rest 10 minutes, then roughly roll out each piece into a circle.  Place 1/4 cup of the eggplant curry in the middle of the circle, then pinch together into a pouch.  Make sure you get as much air out as possible!  Let rest 5 minutes, then gently roll out into an oval.

9.  Heat a pan lightly coated with oil over medium high heat.  Place the naan in one at a time, and fry for about 2 minutes on each side.  Be gentle with the flip!  Repeat with remaining naan.  Finished!

2 thoughts on “Stuffed Naan

  1. YUUUUM! I have to make plain naan today as they have to accompany a spicy Thai soup BUT these gorgeous little babies are next on my list. 2 good recipes in a row means I tuck this blog away in my RSS Feed Reader. So glad I decided to Pin today :)

Leave a Reply

