Chocolate Chip Cookies (vegan)

I’ve been hesitating posting this for a while…does the internet really need another chocolate chip cookie recipe?

IMG_4240

Okay.

I’ve been tinkering around with this recipe for a while now, and I think I’ve finally got it.  I don’t know really know what to say about these other than they taste like a chocolate chip cookie should.  And that’s all I really want out of a cookie anyway. 

Some notes about the recipe – I’ve scaled it down due to my two-person household and tendencies for tummy aches (just one more…).  This recipe makes eight cookies and one big mouthful of cookie dough.  I’ve also added butter extract which gives it that buttery taste (duh) without the added expense of Earth Balance.  But if you don’t have it or can’t find it, they’re great without it too.  The great-and dangerous-thing about this recipe is that all the ingredients are pretty standard and are probably already in your cupboard.

One final note – don’t forget to whip!

Whipping takes your batter from this:

IMG_4200(yes, that is a rice cooker pot.  An alternative title to this blog was “ghetto vegan kitchen”)

to this:

IMG_4211

and ultimately to this:

IMG_4215

IMG_4219

IMG_4224

I hope you like these cookies as much as I do.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

1/4 cup + 2 tbsp brown sugar

1/3 cup rice bran oil (any flavorless oil-canola, veg, etc.)

3 tbsp non-dairy milk (I like coconut)

2 tsp corn starch

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp butter extract (optional)

3/4 cup flour

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup chocolate chips or chunks

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 180°C (350°F).

2. Add sugar, oil, milk, corn starch, vanilla extract, and butter extract into a bowl.  With a fork or whisk, beat for a couple of minutes until the consistency is caramel-like (see photo above).

3. Add flour, baking soda, and salt, and stir to combine.

4.  Fold in chocolate.

5. Using a tablespoon, scoop dough out of the bowl.  Roll into a ball and flatten them in your hands.  Do this quickly so the chocolate doesn’t melt from the heat of your hands.  Place them on a greased baking sheet about one inch apart (they don’t spread very much).

6.  Bake for 8 – 10 minutes.  Let cool and then eat!

Note:  This recipe is adapted from The PPK

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies (vegan)

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream (vegan) | Darth Vegan

  2. These taste very good – I’ve made them twice, but I’m really trying to get the consistency right. I’ve had to add flour both times, one batch came out better than the other. Should these be moldable? Following the directions to the T, both batters have been extremely runny, more like cake batter, and certainly unable to be shaped. I think one time I added too much flour and the other time not enough. I’m hoping to get it just right next time!

    Any idea why the batter is so loose for me??

    • Hi Melissa! I’m sorry about your cookie woes! The cookies should be stiff enough to shape. My first guess is that maybe you’re not whipping the ingredients long enough? That could certainly make the batter runny. Also, before whipping you could reduce the milk to one tablespoon, whip it, add in the rest of the ingredients, and if it’s too dry add milk in teaspoons until it’s the right consistency. Sidebar – sorry it took me so long to reply. I hope this helps!

  3. Pingback: Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies & Homemade Almond Milk

Leave a comment